Winter colour

So Environment Canada has finally admitted what we’ve all been thinking:  that is, weather is getting harder to predict so, I say, what’s the point of doing it at all?  Everyone seems to be wrong until after it’s happened.

I’ve heard that the West will have colder than usual temperatures and we’ll have milder than usual ones, but more snow.  I guess that’s okay with me.  I’d rather have a good snow covering, blanketing the garden and protecting it from harsh winter winds, if there are any.

This is a diving board used by beavers; no sign of any in this December landscape ;c)

It is perhaps, the quiet before the storm.

I understand the paintings that show snow as blue and the winter light, red.

I think there is a beauty to this early winter landscape too, with its more muted tones, but nonetheless, I realize how much I crave colour again when I visited Mill Street Florist and saw some of their holiday creations.

I love how the choices are entirely natural (well, almost entirely, with the exception of the chartreuse dyed reindeer moss):  winterberry, mini pomegranates, magnolia, ornamental cabbage centres, viburnum (Viburnum tinus) berries, grapevine, moss, evergreen branches and pheasant feathers.  Lovely.

How will you satisfy your craving for colour this winter?

8 thoughts on “Winter colour”

  1. This may be (is) a non sequitur. I dried eight pomegranates about 10 years ago. They sit on a display shelf, still showing some red. Another source of color–a wreath of Magnolia grandiflora leaves. Dried Siberian iris seed pods. A large floor vase of grasses and Inula racemosa stalks. I must be a monochrome guy.

    1. James,
      I actually suspected you are a monochrome guy! But I think I’m intrinsically a monochrome kind of gal too. It is quite amazing how those pomegranates keep a hint of their colour years later. And I love how you have Inula stalks inside – I wouldn’t have thought of them, but of course they are so architectural.

      I must admit, though, In the summer garden I love those juicy oranges.

  2. Winter colours from red wine and fruitcake, plastic Santas and ceramic Christmas trees. Pink cheeks and bright red Eskimo (Inuit) parka.

    That said and done, I can hardly wait til I see the first dandelion.

    1. Libby,
      Yes, much of that saturated colour has to come from inside this time of year, except for the pink cheeks! But I’m also with you; winters seem to be getting longer and longer and I’m one of the first ones out there in March looking for signs of life :c)

  3. Sun rising and full Moon in retreat-such anticipation here on Pacific coast of Mexico-first Christmas away from—!!!

    flowers too numerous and various birds; that fresh air;sunshine and fresh fruits and veggies; coffee and homemade date squares! All this and more and the weather so far has been very predictable -Gorgeous-see you in April and exploion of new growth way up North!–

    Al

    1. Al,
      What can I say?! I’m *more* than jealous of your situation. Do drop us a line regularly to say what’s blooming down your way. Where on the Pacific Coast of Mexico are you calling your winter home?

Leave a Reply

