Peachy-keen planters

These are my front step planters which are now overflowing to bursting!  The star in them both is the peachy-pink coloured impatiens (Impatiens walleriana, not the New Guinea variety).

I can’t tell you what the cultivar name is but I can tell you that I planted both pots (my prized Italian terracotta that went unsold at the store; go figure!) with a couple of styrofoam flats of them.  I’ve also interspersed them with a flat of mixed coleus. 

The top planter has a dark coleus with deeply cut foliage that I think is called Sofia Red Green Fringed.  As a background plant that is supposed to tower over the impatiens, I have used Fuchsia triphylla ‘Gartenmeister Bonstedt’.  I know, it is definitely not towering but that’s because the other plants are so happy.  But honestly, this variety of fuchsia is a must-have, especially if you have a shady location.  It is a woody plant, multi-branched with pendulous flowers at the end of every one of those branches that just keep blooming all summer and beyond.  It is one of my go-to plants.

The planter at the bottom has a trailing tuberous begonia, also in peach, as its primary ingredient, which is also being dwarfed now by the impatiens.

Remember this?

It was the carnage that arrived on my doorstep from the Proven Winners people back in May; a bunch of little pots with annuals to trial.  I didn’t think any of them could be saved…but look at this:

WOWSA! 

I’ll get back to you and tell you what the plants are….

Leave a Reply

