Is there a reason to grow goutweed?

I can’t believe I’m saying this but “Yes, there is.” 

Until now I did not know that the Black Swallowtail butterfly uses as a host plant members of the carrot family, namely dill, Queen Anne’s lace but also goutweed (whose umbel flowers resemble those of Queen Anne’s lace).  The Fletcher Wildlife Garden in Ottawa has glorious photos (namely this close-up) of the caterpillar stage of Black Swallowtail, which is a fairly common, yet beautiful butterfly in North America. 

Yesterday I saw one amongst the variegated goutweed (Aegopodium podagraria ‘Variegatum’) in a client’s shady garden.  The plants have spread amongst the giant hostas and astilbe, making a lovely patterned foil, so I was almost loath to pull them out.  As I was crouched over, editing, I saw this:

It had munched some of the flowering stems already; I didn’t mind.  As I was snapping this picture, it sensed something towering over it and bid a fairly speedy getaway under cover of the plants’ foliage. 

Leave a Reply

